The 5 stages of grieving

Posted on May 20, 2017

Knowing your phases of grief can help normalize your grieving experience. It’s also important to know that there are no time limits and no rushing the process. Dr. Kubler-Ross has outlined 5 main stages in the grieving process and they are:

1. Denial
This first stage is when we let our heart rather than our head rules our belief system as we try to adjust to the idea of life without the person we’re losing. At this stage, one often struggle to come to terms with the reality of loss.

2. Anger
This is the phase when we are just angry and the anger can manifest in many different forms - anger at the people or situations associated with the loss, anger at the universe, and even anger at people who disagree or do not understand our anger.

3. Bargaining
Bargaining often goes hand in hand with denial. Bargaining can be looking for any possible way to make the relationship work through negotiation and/or threats.

4. Depression
In this stage where depression dominates, a sense of hopelessness is the most pervasive and debilitating. One may withdraw and disconnect from his or her social circle, be on the verge of tears often, lose sleep or sleep too much, and generally not want to do anything at all but lay in bed.

5. Acceptance
Finally, this is the phase in which we are able to make peace with the loss. Acceptance entails making peace with the loss, letting go of the relationship and slowly moving forward with your life. Sometimes it feels like this phase will never come, which usually means you’re still struggling in an earlier phase.

Grieving takes time and the only thing you can do is try to get through it. But take heart in the fact that this, like everything else, will eventually pass.

Category(s):Grief, Loss, Bereavement

Source material from Psychology Today

Mental Health News